How to bypass Webflow's 10k character limit with Javascript

How to bypass Webflow's 10k character limit with Javascript

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

Webflow I love you.

You make web development fun again, but...

😡 Your 10k character limit for Custom Javascript Code is killing me!

screen-shot-title.png

Here's the quick and easy way to get past it 🤩

Step 1:

I create a string of characters 20,000 long. I know, I know, it's a 10k limit. But I really wanted to test this! 😅

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 8.54.33 AM.png

Step 2:

I create a Javascript file and added those 20k characters to a constant. Then added a simple JS alert popup after it.

Then I hosted it on Github:

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 9.52.21 AM.png

Step 3:

Went over to JS Deliver Doc's and looked up the URL I should use.

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 9.53.44 AM.png

I love JS Deliver. This is what the URL looks like for me:

https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/gh/NoCodeQuest/webflow-10k-limit-bypassed/hello-20k.js

Step 4:

Bundled up the JS Deliver URL into a Javascript tag:

<script type="text/javascript" src="https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/gh/NoCodeQuest/webflow-10k-limit-bypassed/hello-20k.js"></script>

Step 5:

Added that JS tag to my Webflow page. I like to put these before the tag so the rest of the site loads first:

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 9.59.03 AM.png

Step 6:

Published my Webflow project, opened the live site:

Screen Shot 2022-09-11 at 10.01.07 AM.png

💥 Bam!

Worked soooooo good 😅

There’s a bunch more you could do to make development, better. But this is a great start!